A Naked Conversation

As a beginner in the blogosphere, I got a bit nervous when I red chapter 10 in Schoble’s and Israel’s book Naked Conversations about doing it wrong. But I breathed easily again when I saw the recipe of techniques and guidelines in chapter 11. I have already violated several of the tips – although I noticed that it takes a professional to violate the rules. I will go through the 11 tips here in order to goet to know them by heart.

1. What’s in a name? Search engine results
When I picked the name last week, I was not thinking of search engines. My hope is to have a few visitors other than my professor and my mom. So for now the name is OK. I am here to learn and experience the world on the web.

Fusose is not a real word. Fusose is the way my three-year-old nephew, Hjalte pronounces my son’s name. He says FUSOSE instead of my cousin Niels Sofus (in Danish: fætter Niels Sofus). I will change the name to Fusose Talks (I just have to figure out how to do it), because my son talks a lot, but the talk does not include many words. But now and then a word has fastened on his brain just like I am learning the jargon and the norms of the blogosphere right now.

2. Read a bunch of blogs before you start.
Good idea. I don’t think I have red 50 blogs as Scoble and Israel suggest. But I will catch up and have to install a RSS feed.

3. Keep it simple. Keep it focused.
That’s the bottom line of communication. It’s simple, but it is difficult to practice. 

4. Demonstrate passion.
5. Show your authority. 
Schoble and Israel put these tips together, because neither goes without the other. You find passion in teen diaries, but no authority. You find authority in a lot of corporate blogs, but no passion.

6. Add comments.
Add comments and “get over the fact that you won’t have full control” (Schoble & Israel, 2006:176). I don’t think I have fully realized this fact in practice. “It is a modern revolution, however, because technology has given us a communications toolkit that allows anyone to become a journalist at little cost” (Dan Gillmor in We The Media, 2005:xxiii). Companies and government agencies have to trust employees, comsumers etc. and not control them.

7. Be accessible.
It seems obvious if you are a corporate company, but since it is mentioned it is probably not obvious for companies selling products or services. I am not convinced by the example Schoble and Israel mention (on page 177): An ABC producer called Schoble to aks for help to get computers distributed to someone Schoble did not know. Why did he not call FedEx?

8. Tell a story.
I have to figure out the balance between “me” as an authority, and the academic principles I learned at Aarhus University. Is this blog entry too much about me? I guess I have to get used to NOT being a ghostwriter in the shadow of a minister.

9. Be linky
“Be the absolute best resource for your readers, and they will reward you with lots of inbound links” (Schoble & Israel, 2006:178). Why not share information and coorporate? I have never understood classmates and colleagues who just stick with themselves and their own ideas and information. It’s like when a salesperson refers me to another store because his or her store does not carry the product I am looking for. It creates trust and loayalty.

10. Get out into the real world.
Just my mantra. “The life of wisdom must be a life of contemplation and combined with action” (M. Scott)

11. Use your referrer.
A surveiliance tool to keep the conversation going.

2 responses to “A Naked Conversation

  1. Anne,

    You’re insight into rule five (show your authority) is so keen. In the consideration of blogging as a corporate tool, the problem that it is often seen as a tool for teenagers to connect, which positions it as a tool with weak or no authority. Finding a way to strike the balance is the challenging part. I think that reading blogs that seem to get it right (from the corporate perspective and not just the views/day one) may be useful.

  2. Anne Juel Jorgensen

    I agreee….
    I was actually looking for some good corporate blogs (other than those mentioned in Naked Conversations) but did not have time. Can you (or others) recommend any?

Leave a Reply

